Golf show season: Is it Spring yet?

Milwaukee received about five inches of snow today. Cabin fever is at elevated levels not seen in a few years. I don’t remember being this excited for baseball’s Spring Training in ages, which is especially odd since my Cubs are going to be a tough team to watch in 2014.

This is likely why I jumped at the chance to go with my parents to the Fox Cities Golf Expo last weekend, held in beautiful Appleton, Wisconsin.

Golf shows are becoming a late-winter tradition of sorts for me. I enjoy the collection of booths that feature local courses, instructors, new equipment demo areas and, best of all, retail vendors.

Pretty good deals can be found on merchandise at these shows, and I typically leave each show with a bag full of goodies. At the Fox Cities Golf Expo, I bought a pair of Puma Faas Lite spikeless golf shoes for $54 and a matching hat for $15.

Madison, Wisconsin had their show earlier in February, and Milwaukee has theirs scheduled for the weekend of March 14-16.

And it’s a good thing, because now I need a matching polo and shorts for my new outfit.

Generally, admission is collected to get into these events. Entry into golf shows runs about $10/person. When my folks and I went to the show last weekend, we received a free 18-hole round of golf at a local course upon entry, as well as a year’s subscription to either Golf Digest or Golf World magazine. So any admission fee was basically negated.

So if you’re looking for a way to beat the winter blues, check out your local golf show and think spring!

(Editor’s note: I have to give a Phil Mickelson-esque hat tip to my buddy Nick for getting me back into blogging, especially about golf! Check out his blog, It’s GIR Time, here.)

Leave a Reply

